Introspection

Change is the only Constant

“Strategic

Inflection Point” (SIP) is a term coined by Andrew Grove, the former President and CEO

of INTEL Corp in his book “ONLY THE PARANOID SURVIVE”. Here’s how he defines

it:

“Strategic inflection point is a

time in the life of a business when its fundamentals are about to change. That

change can mean an opportunity to rise to new heights. But it may just as

likely signal the beginning of the end.”

i.e. a

moment in the life of a business when all its previous values/ principles/ assumptions

are about to change. The change may be for the better or for the worse –

depending on how the company handles it. For example, a company like Nokia has

faced a number of SIPs in its lifetime which has resulted in its core businesses

change from paper products, bicycle and car tyres, footwear (including Wellington boots),

personal computers, communications cables, televisions, electricity production,

etc. to the present core business of Mobile Phones.

Now what

is the “Strategic Inflection Point” doing on my blog? While I was reading the

book, I felt that my present situation is also akin to a SIP.

I am in

the middle of a time which promises to change (almost) everything about my life

till now. My profession is in the process of undergoing a radical change. From

a code jockey I am in the process of becoming a (certified) manager. My thought

process could undergo a major change as a result of interacting with people from different backgrounds, experiences and  professions. In short, the process of change is already on for me.

It is up

to me what I make of it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

